Monday, December 15, 2008

How To Install World Of Padman Game To A Pentium 2 Computer

1.First, you must have another computer that meets the minimum requirements of World Of Padman (WOP). Install it there then go to Setup and use a smaller resolution, then save it.
2.Copy the folder where you installed it to your USB pen drive. Also, copy the configuration files by viewing the root folder's hidden files where you installed WOP.
3.Go to your Pentium 2 computer and copy-paste the files from your USB drive to disk.
4.Run WOP. Enjoy!

Saturday, December 13, 2008

How To Add The Terminal (Console/Command Line) In KDE4

1.Open Dolphin Folder Manager.
2.View->Panels->Terminal.
3.That's It! Now, you don't have to right-click to the folder every time you want a terminal.

Thursday, December 11, 2008

How To Fix The Blender UI Problem On Asus Eeepc

You might encounter problems using Blender in Ubuntu like the title bar is missing or when you exit the program, the interface is still there and you have to click on another workspace for it to disappear. To fix the problem, just turn off desktop effects:

In Gnome: Right-click on the desktop->Change Background->Desktop Effects->Turn off Effects.

In KDE: System Settings->Desktop->Desktop Effects and uncheck Enable Effects.

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

How To Modify The Look And Feel of Your Qt Jambi Application

Just add this line on your Main Window:

QApplication.setStyle(new QWindowsStyle());

Check this link: http://doc.trolltech.com/qtjambi-4.4/html/com/trolltech/qt/gui/QStyle.html

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Installing Google AppEngine In Eclipse Ganymede

Installation:
1. Install Python 2.5.
2. Download App-Engine SDK and documentation.
3. Extract to directory.
4. If using Eclipse, follow the instructions listed here:
http://code.google.com/appengine/articles/eclipse.html

5. On the eclipse integration with assembla, you will need the Mylyn + extras plugin. Install those first. If you are familiar with Trac it should be easy. But learning Trac is not that hard.

Trac is the issue tracking tool used by assembla which is well integrated with svn. So you will need Subclipse too.

6. On your update manager in eclipse, add these links :
Subclipse : http://subclipse.tigris.org/update_1.4.x
Mylyn : http://download.eclipse.org/tools/mylyn/update/e3.4
Mylyn Extras : http://download.eclipse.org/tools/mylyn/update/extras/

7. Choose to install all features of Mylyn including the extras for the Trac plugin.

8. On subclipse, point your new repository from assembla (Or, other code repository) via Subversion Repository Exploring perspective.

(documentation for eclipse provided by Jose Maranan)

Using Audacity on Asus Eeepc

If you have an Ubuntu 8.04 installed on an Eeepc and will be using Audacity, the default ALSA will not work only the Jack Connection would work, but how do you configure your JACK?

Install Qjackctl using synaptic:

1. Go to System->Adminstration->Synaptic Package Manager.
2. Search on Qjackctl and check then install.
3. Go to Applications->Sound & Video->Jack Control.
4. Configure using these settings:

* Driver: oss
* Frames/ Period: 512
* Sample rate: 48000
* Periods/ Buffer: 20
* Word Length: 16
* Port Maximum: 1024
* Timeout: 5000
* Audio: Duplex

5. Click OK then Start jackd.
6. Run Audacity, then Edit-> Preferences.
7. Playback device and Recording device choose Jack Connection.
8. On the lower left side of the tracks, choose 48000 instead of 41000.
9. Record, Play, and Enjoy!

Or, you could upgrade to 8.10 Intrepid Ibex and is fixed by default without going into this trouble. :)